What happens when water evaporates?

In simple evaporation, such as a bowl of water, the liquid water changes into a water vapor composed of microscopic water molecules which disperse into the air. A rise in ambient temperature or a drop in atmospheric pressure will increase the evaporation rate. Any suspended solids are left behind.