How do you crack an egg?

Hold the egg firmly in your dominant hand and tap the egg firmly against a flat surface until a crack along the middle appears. Separate the two halves to open the egg. Cracking an egg against the rim of a bowl is unadvised because it could cause bits of shell to get in the egg white.