What did the romans brush your teeth with?

In order to avoid the need for dentures, a wealthy Roman's slave would wield a soft twig, onto which polishing powders were applied, and then he would gently scrub his master’s teeth and gums to clean away food leftovers. Romans also used ammonia to whiten their teeth - they got this from urine!