Is the dead sea shrinking?

The Dead Sea is shrinking, and as it does, the fresh water aquifers along the perimeter of the lake shrink with it. This fresh water diffuses into salt deposits beneath the surface, and dissolves them until the earth above collapses. More than 1,000 sinkholes have appeared in the past 15 years.