What is the recommended steps per day?

This isn't surprising, as the average American logs from 5,000 to 7,000 steps per day. But if you want to get enough physical activity to reduce your health risks and manage your weight, you should find ways to increase your daily pedometer step count towards a goal of 10,000 or more.