What happens if the moon disappears?

With the gravitational pull of the moon missing, tides as we know them would be over. There would still be waves since the sun also slightly affects the movement of the ocean, but the churning currents as we know them would diminish.

---

Without the moon, a day on earth would only last six to twelve hours. There could be more than a thousand days in one year! That's because the Earth's rotation slows down over time thanks to the gravitational force -- or pull of the moon -- and without it, days would go by in a blink.