How do you sleep in animal crossing new horizons?

Enter your tent, press X to bring up your inventory, then select the bed (called a 'cot' here – it's a rickety camp bed), and select 'place'. Voila: you now have a bed. Simply walking up to the side of your bed will prompt your villager to climb into it