What is a killswitch on guitar?

a killswitch is a process that turns your guitar signal on and off quickly. This is most commonly done with a two-pickup guitar where you set the volume to zero on one pickup, and higher on the second. When you then toggle between pickups it makes the signal turn on and off quickly.