When did john kennedy serve?

JFK served in the Navy in the Solomon Islands in World War II. He served on a PT boat. PT boats were used for quick attacks and as supply boats. He was wounded. He saved some of his fellow sailors. He won the Purple Heart and the Navy and Marine Corps medal