Tell me about alternate dimensions?

Some areas of physics suggest alternate realities or dimensions may exist. String theory is one that explains how the behavior of subatomic particles may indicate parallel or alternative dimensions. You can learn more about it in The Elegant Universe - a beginner guide available as a book or video.