Does iceland have a volcano?

Iceland has many volcanoes. The most famous is mount Hekla. It has erupted 18 times since 1104. Iceland's central plateau has 30 or 40 volcanoes that have erupted in last few centuries, and over a hundred that seem dormant. On average, Iceland has a major volcanic event once every 5 years.