What does the q. in q-tip mean?

The “Q” in Q-tips stands for quality and the word “tips” describes the cotton swab at the end of the stick. In 1923, upon observing his wife applying wads of cotton to toothpicks, Leo Gerstenzang, the original founder of Q-tips, conceived the idea of manufacturing a ready-to-use cotton swab.