What is a harlem renaissance?

The Harlem Renaissance was the development of the Harlem neighborhood as a Black cultural mecca in the early 20th Century and the social and artistic explosion. Lasting from the 1910s to the mid-1930s, it is considered a golden age in African American literature, music, stage performance and art.