Why is it called french onion soup?

Apparently, French onion soup dates back to antiquity. The Greeks and the Romans enjoyed a soup made with cooked onions tossed in a broth. At some point in time, the French decided that the onions should be caramelized to bring out their natural sweetness and the soup was named after them.