Why do they put a worm in the tequila bottle?

They don't. The worm, a larva of a type of moth found on the agave plant, is only found in mezcal, a drink often confused with tequila. Although various legends are told about the worm, the truth is that mezcal brands use it for marketing purposes

---

The legend of the worm in the tequila bottle began in the 1950s when a Mexican Mezcal maker found the larva of a moth in a bottle of mezcal. He thought the moth larva improved the taste and began to use that as a marketing strategy. Other manufacturers followed suit.