What is the air in space made of?

First, there is no air in space as we know it. The farther from the surface of the Earth, the lower the concentration of oxygen. Second, space is generally regarded as having only a few gas molecules of anything, plus dust, and radiation.

---

There is no air in space – it is a vacuum. While hydrogen and helium make up most of the gases in interstellar space, tiny traces of other elements such as carbon, oxygen and iron also exist.