How many pets does the average household have?

The average household in the United States has one pet.

---

one. The typical American family is always pictured with a dog. Some people who do not have dogs might have had one in the past. "One dog people" are people who had a dog in the past, loved the dog like a person, and never gets over the demise and can never replace that love they shared.