When was anime created?

The earliest examples of Japanese animation can be traced back to 1917. In 1958, “The Tale of the White Serpent” was published and is known to be the oldest anime publication.

---

The earliest examples of Japanese animation can be traced back to 1917. The defining characteristics of the anime art style we know today first emerged in the 1960s through the works of Osamu Tezuka.