What's the difference between an oral and a rectal thermometer?

There are various subtle differences between the two. They may be color-coded, with a red tip indicating a rectal thermometer and a blue tip indicating an oral thermometer. Electric thermometers will use different tips for each type of use. Never use an oral thermometer rectally or visa versa.