What is marshmallows made from?

Those fluffy treats called marshmallows are made by mixing sugar, corn syrup, modified cornstarch, and gelatin then whipping in lots of air, followed by cooking, extruding and cutting to size. In the past, the sap of the marsh-mallow plant was used to thicken the mix but no longer