How do people get their last name?

Originally, a surname or last name was the name of ones father as in Robert son of Charles. Later, surnames referred to places where one was born or lived, a personal characteristic, or an occupation. Permanent surnames first came into use about the time of the First Crusades around 1000 A.D.