What is the middle of winter?

The middle of the winter, called midwinter, is the day mid-way between the Winter Solstice and the Spring Equinox. In the northern hemisphere midwinter typically falls on February 2nd or 3rd. In the southern hemisphere it falls on August 1st or 2nd.