Who invented the fork?

Although its origin may go back to Ancient Greece, the personal table fork was most likely invented in the Byzantine Empire, where they were in common use by the 4th century. Records show that by the 9th century in some elite circles of Persia a similar utensil known as a barjyn was in limited use.