Why is hot dogs called hot dogs?

Hot dogs are called hot dogs because the sausages look like little dachshund dogs. German immigrants in the 1800s brought both the sausages and the dogs with them to America. When they started selling the sausages, people started calling them hot dogs instead of weiners.