What is the fascia?

The fascia is a thin, connective layer between the skin and muscle/fat layers in an animal. It is found in most vertebrates.

---

Fascia is a thin casing of connective tissue that surrounds and holds every organ, blood vessel, bone, nerve fiber and muscle in place. The tissue does more than provide internal structure; fascia has nerves that make it almost as sensitive as skin.