What is the origin of rudolph the red nosed reindeer?

It originally involved a curious reindeer and a barrel of Ale during a rest stop. Nicholas had to run before the barkeep owners noticed. There was a storm that night. It was strong and blinding, the reindeer balked at the task, all except for 1. Rudolph. He was too sauced to care. They made it.