Does a caterpillar have more muscles in a human?

A Caterpillar Has as Many as 4,000 Muscles in Its Body That's one seriously muscle-bound insect! By comparison, humans have just 629 muscles in a considerably larger body. The caterpillar's head capsule alone consists of 248 individual muscles, and about 70 muscles control each body segment.