What constitutes a category five hurricane?

According to the National Hurricane Center, a category 5 hurricane has sustained winds of 157 miles per hour or higher, with catastrophic damage such as total roof and wall collapse, downed trees and power lines, and power outages lasting for weeks or months. Most of the area will be uninhabitable.