Who is the inventor of duct tape?

Duct tape was invented in 1943 by an Illinois mom named Vesta Stoudt. She worked in an ammunition plant and noticed the paper tape used to seal ammo boxes made them hard for soldiers to open. So she came up with a cloth-backed substitute.