Why did pluto get extinct?

Pluto is not extinct as in it is gone. Pluto was demoted from a planet to a planetoid due to its small size. Pluto may be a moon that was not captured by the gravity of another planet. Pluto remains in the same orbit that it occupied since it was discovered.