Where was the first bridge constructed?

The first real evidence of bridge-building can be traced back to Babylonian society in about 4000BC. Outside Babylon was a great reservoir, holding overflow from the river Euphrates. The river was spanned in the center of the city by a single brick arch, one furlong (220m) long and 10m wide.