What weapons are used in minecraft?

There are currently only four items in Minecraft which are considered as proper weapons: swords, tridents, bows, and crossbows(1.14). Axes can also be wielded as weapons, but they are more considered as tools, and therefore they have detrimental side-effects when used as weapons.