What was the consequence of the boston tea party?

After the Boston Tea Party, the British Parliament passed a number of punitive laws known collectively as the Intolerable Acts in 1774. Although intended to ensure British authority over the colonies, these acts only exacerbated the divide between Parliament and the colonists.