Why are hard boiled eggs sometimes hard to peel?

Fresh egg whites bond more strongly to the inner shell membrane than it does to itself. As an egg sits in refrigeration for several days, the pH of the white albumen increases and the hard cooked eggs become much easier to peel. The only downside is that this can make the eggs taste more sulfuric.