What weapon is used in the biathlon?

A small-bore rifle is the weapon used by biathletes. Per the International Biathlon Union, the rifle must weigh at least 3.5 kg, and uses 22 caliber long rifle ammunition. A rifle holds 4 magazines of 5 rounds each.