When was the hyatt regency disaster in kansas city?

Kansas City's Hyatt Regency Disaster occurred on July 17, 1981. That evening a number of party-goers gathered on two overhead walkways to watch a dance contest in the hotel lobby. Without warning, the poorly engineered skywalks collapsed thereby killing 114 people and injuring another 216.