Why are bats important?

Bats are a structural backbone of our ecosystem as a whole. Without their intake of mosquitoes, the air would reach maximum capacity, to the point that breath could not be drawn without great difficulty. We also would face exceptional rates of zoonotic illnesses such as malaria.