What does nine one one represent?

9 1 1 is an abbreviated dialing code in some telephone systems of the North American Numbering Plan, designated for emergency services such as police, fire, ambulance and rescue services. Other abbreviated dialing codes included 4 1 1 for directory assistance and 5 1 1 for traffic information.