What kind of food is ratatouille?

Technically a vegetable stew. Ratatouille is made from seasonal vegetables, typically eggplant, zucchini, onions, green peppers, and tomatoes, mixed with garlic and olive oil.

---

Ratatouille is a French Provençal stewed vegetable dish, originating in Nice. Modern ratatouille consists of tomatoes as a foundation for sautéed garlic, onions, zucchini, aubergine (eggplant), bell peppers, marjoram, fennel and basil, or bay leaf and thyme, or a mix of green herbs.