What is the avatar cycle?

The Avatar Cycle is based on the passage of the 4 seasons, which coincides with the order in which Wan first learned the elements; fire related to summer, air to autumn, water to winter, and earth to spring. When an Avatar dies, the next Avatar will be born into the next nation in the Avatar Cycle.