Why did ireland split?

In 1919 an Irish republic was proclaimed by the Irish nationalist party. Then Britain partitioned the island in 1920 into the Protestant northeast and the Catholic south and northwest. In 1922 the Irish Free State was formed. Then Northern Ireland withdrew and became part of the United Kingdom.