How long is football been around?

The history of American football can be traced to early versions of rugby and association football. The origin of pro football can be traced back to 1892, with William "Pudge" Heffelfinger's $500 contract to play in a game for the Allegheny Athletic Association against the Pittsburgh Athletic Club.