What does the abbreviation d. m. stand for?

In the digital world, “DM” usually stands for “Direct Message.” A DM is a private mode of communication between social media users. When you send a direct message, only you and the recipient can see the content. Instagram, Facebook and Twitter all have their own direct messaging platforms.