In what year did the united states annex puerto rico?

The Spanish-American War of 1898 ended Spain’s colonial empire in the Western Hemisphere and produced a peace treaty that compelled the Spanish to relinquish claims on Cuba, and to cede sovereignty over Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines to the United States.