Who made the first pair of shoes?

Egyptians began making the modern type shoe from woven reeds as early as 1550 BC. Worn as overshoes, they were boat-shaped and had straps constructed of long, thin reeds. But much earlier than that, prehistoric humans made some type of foot covering from animal skins.