What's a spatchcock turkey?

Splitting the turkey along the backbone and cooking it flat, this method can reduce the cooking time.

---

Spatchcocking a bird is the process of removing the backbone and flattening it onto a baking tray (or butterflying it). It may seem a bit difficult but it's really easy to do, saves a lot of cook time and helps everything cook evenly. You can cook a 10-12 lb turkey in about 70-90 minutes.