What's the brightest light ever?

A laser has produced the most dazzling light ever made on Earth – one billion times brighter than the surface of the sun. Scientists at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in the US fired an ultra high-intensity laser known as “Diocles” at electrons suspended in helium.