Is q. u. a. y. a word?

Yes, "quay," spelled Q-U-A-Y, is an actual English word. It refers to a platform, usually made of concrete, stone, or metal, that's used for loading and unloading boats and ships.

---

Quay is a word, generally pronounced key. It refers to a dock where boats are moored.