Who did carly simon write you're so vain about?

Carly Simon has said in the past that the song refers to three men, but only one of whom she has named publicly is actor Warren Beatty.

---

Carly Simon revealed that the second verse of "You're So Vain" is about Warren Beatty.

---

Carly Simon said that the 2nd verse of "You're So Vain" is about Warren Beatty. This verse begins with the lyrics, "You had me several years ago when I was still quite naïve," and ends with, "You gave away the things you loved, and one of them was me." The rest of the song is about unnamed people.