What is vinegar made of?

Vinegar is a combination of acetic acid and water made by a two-step fermentation process.

---

Vinegar is a combination of acetic acid and water made by a two-step fermentation process. First, yeast feed on the sugar or starch of any liquid from a plant food such as fruits, whole grains, potatoes, or rice. This liquid ferments into alcohol.